Presidents & Officers

Brenda Meredith, 2023 - 2024

I´m quite excited about becoming the 25th president of our club, I will do my very best to meet the challenge.     You have my assurance that I will be as dedicated to this position as I have been to my duties as club secretary for the past 12 years.

I just hope I can live up to the expectations of Wynson Beswick, President 2022 to 2023 and the other 24 president´s before me.  Thank you Wynson for inviting me along to the various organizations and including me in the many meetings, this will be of great help to me in my coming year.

My mission is to continue to raise awareness of whom we are and what we do. It is so true that a club is nothing without its members and the impact it has on the local community.   The members all know we help people in need, and the many organisations we support.   I would particularly like to help our local schools more.  These pupils are our future and we should be encouraging them in their studies and in their play.    Also the Local sports clubs for football, basketball, volley ball, fencing, athletics and maybe, when the new pool opens, swimming and water sports.

Supporting the disabled, child welfare, also animal welfare, feeding the hungry, the homeless, helping to improve the quality of life for these less fortunate in our society,  and a cause close to my heart, cancer charities.

We are a very active club with our own Diabetic Support Group, ably run for many years now by Anne Bowles. And recently the Alzheimer´s Carers Group in the capable hands of Sandra Tavendale,  and we support both these groups with our presence when they have a function,  to help not only raise money,  but also to raise AWARENESS of the Lions.    It is extremely important to give our sincere thanks to all those in the club who give up their time to carry out their roles within the club.   These jobs are all voluntary and take a lot of time and hard work, all of which is for the benefit of our club.

We also should not forget our shop volunteers.  Their help in our three Charity Shops is invaluable.

I also want to create a subcommittee for our social events, because I think that having more club members  participating and splitting the work, will help complete the task more quickly than having just one person doing all the work.   The club is always open to members having fresh ideas and I would like to encourage more members to become involved in arranging events.  You don´t have to be an expert,  but if you have any ideas about things that you would like to do and that you think others would also enjoy, please share them.

I´d like to thank my team of Directors in advance.  And a special thank you to all the club members, because without them, we wouldn´t have a club !!!  and I promise that I will serve to the best of my ability during my year as President of our fabulous La Cala de Mijas Lions Club.

Brenda Meredith,






La Cala Lions Past Presidents

  • Brenda Meredith, 2023 - 2024

  • Wynson Beswick

    Wynson Beswick, 2022 - 2023

  • David Kay

    David Kay, 2021 - 2022

  • Graham Rutland

    Graham Rutland, 2020 - 2021

  • Anita Humphreys

    Anita Humphreys, 2019 - 2020

  • Margaret Bobowicz

    Margaret Bobowicz, 2018 - 2019

  • Julie Barry

    Julie Barry, 2017 - 2018

  • Paul Butler

    Paul Butler, 2016 - 2017

  • Anthony Bellamy

    Anthony Bellamy, 2015 - 2016

  • Anne Bowles

    Anne Bowles, 2014 - 2015

  • Patricia Maxwell

    Patricia Maxwell, 2013 - 2014

  • Brian Coventry

    Brian Coventry, 2012 - 2013

  • Rosalyn Rowley

    Rosalyn Rowley, 2011 - 2012

  • Rowland Owens

    Rowland Owens, 2010 - 2011

  • Anthony Bellamy

    Anthony Bellamy, 2008 - 2010

  • Jan Owens

    Jan Owens, 2007 - 2008

  • Ron Pettit

    Ron Pettit, 2006 - 2007

  • Stewart Harvey

    Stewart Harvey, 2005 - 2006

  • Ron Freeman

    Ron Freeman, 2004 - 2005

  • John Greaves

    John Greaves, 2003 - 2004

  • Bill Oliver

    Bill Oliver, 2002 - 2003

  • Mike Lloyd

    Mike Lloyd, 2001 - 2002

  • Don Cameron

    Don Cameron, 2000 - 2001

  • Mike Lloyd

    Mike Lloyd, 1999 - 2000

  • Martin Rhead, 1998 - 1999

La Cala Lions list of Officers

President Brenda Meredith
Vice President Karen Blair
Secretary Sandra Tavendale
Treasurer Gillian Stubbs
Membership Anita Humphreys
Shop Manager Julie Barry
Welfare Julie Barry
Press Graham Rutland
Communications & Marketing Graham Rutland
Alzheimer’s Support Group Sandra Tavendale
Diabetics Support Group Anne Bowles
Lion Tamer ...
Tail Twister Rosemary Brabrook